Mercies New Every Morning . . .

sunrise

I’m a morning person, so I actually like getting up early. There’s just something about the peace and quiet before the day begins in earnest that puts me in the right mental state. Speaker and author Brian Tracy calls the first hour after you awake the “Golden Hour”, and suggests spending it in thinking about and visualizing your goals. By doing so, he says, “your life will start to take off at such a speed that you’ll have to put on your seatbelt.” The blogger Sean McCabe suggests that “the best time to do the most important work of your day is right when you wake up.” He proposes that because our brains work through issues while we’re sleeping, we have more mental clarity right after waking up and should take advantage of it. He suggests that everything starts with writing, so we should spend those first few moments writing down our thoughts.

My days seem to go best when I set aside this time for deep thinking, prayer and meditation. If I don’t spend that quiet introspective time, I don’t seem to have the same ability to handle stress and problems I encounter the rest of the day. These days, my routine includes reading the day’s entry for Jesus Calling, which has been one of the best devotionals I’ve ever encountered (thank you, Kerry!). I’ve given a copy to multiple people, and highly recommend it!

The Scriptures are full of morning references – here are a few:

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness!
– Lamentations 3:22-23

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
for to you I entrust my life.
– Psalm 143:8

But I cry to you for help, Lord;
in the morning my prayer comes before you.
– Psalm 88:13

And I like Nicole Nordeman’s song “Mercies New”, the chorus of which goes:

Your mercies are new every morning
So let me wake with the dawn
When the music is through or so it seems to be
Let me sing a new song . . .

Mornings give us that new chance, a “do-over.” No matter how bad the day is, there’s always a new beginning the next morning. How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

